I’m really quite random

Nedra Weinreich has challenged me to post a bit of my own voice here; to post eight random facts about, er, myself.

I’m reading ‘Reclaiming the Media: Communication Rights and Democratic Media Roles‘.

The new publications I’m most curious about at this moment are ‘Auditing for Social Change: A Strategy for Citizen Engagement in Public Sector Accountability’, and The Case Foundation’s ‘Citizens Center: A New Approach to Civic Engagement‘.

I do Taoist tai chi.

My first job was working in a library, as a page. That was my job title. We liked to think we might get promoted to chapters, and if we truly excelled, might someday become books. I love information, and research is still one of the things I like doing most of all.

I used to do a fair bit of winter camping. Contrary to what some might think, devoted participation in such activities isn’t in the fine print of Canadian citizenship. Where I live now is more temperate, but there is something magical about standing on a frozen lake you once canoed on, and hearing the sounds of ice moving: like the calls of morning doves, or like dolphin cries, beginning at one end of the lake, the sound shooting under your feet and echoing off into the ice and snow off the far shore.

Apparently, I was the unit (on-set) publicist on The Amityville Curse. I spent some early years working as a movie publicist. Most of this was distribution publicity, but I stumbled my way through a few films in Montreal as a unit publicist. This meant interviewing the actors and writing the background stories about the films being made. I never worked on anything with the word Amityville in the title, but I’m guessing one of the few thrillers I worked on was re-named.

When we were teenagers, my parents made my siblings and I choose some form of regular community service commitment. Our options were open as to activity, but we had to become volunteers. We hated the idea, I remember, hated particularly the mandatory, non-negotiable aspect of the project. Now, I think it was a pretty cool idea – during the self-involvement of teen years, to braid into kids threads of ‘giving back’, of volunteerism or activism.

I really like quotations.    This one by E.B. White is currently on my desk:   “I get up every morning determined both to change the world and have one hell of a good time.  Sometimes this makes planning the day difficult.”

Leave a Reply

