The average human being stops learning at 26

Came across this in the bio for a blog:

Social scientists tell us the average human being stops learning at age 26. Stops inquiring and settles into day-by-day normalcy. I never believed in doing that. I hope you don’t, either.

The former is rather discouraging.  And I so agree with the latter.

I don’t think halted learning is because people lack a thirst for knowledge.  I think most jobs encourage really specific expertise, and encourage vertical learning on that one specific skill – that’s what’s rewarded financially.  I believe that with lateral or horizontal learning, the rewards are more internal.  That can be harder to find the time for, in the demands of day-to-day life.

Hail the lifelong learners.

Leave a Reply

